Home » The Babbles » Easter dinner and life in general.

Easter dinner and life in general.

So, the fact that I haven’t been writing as much on here lately is either a sign of me being way too busy for my own good or is a sign that I’ve been letting everything build up and should be using this website (or knitting. I like knitting) as an outlet for said emotions.

For example.  It’s going to be Easter soon. Easter dinner is the one dinner that I find myself actually looking forward to every year.

And that’s usually because I quite literally see all the relatives I don’t talk to or see as often as I do my paternal grandparents and their children.

I also get the gloriously good Filipino food like pancit and this beef stew thing that I keep forgetting the name of.

Great Filipino aren’t I?

Not even knowing the names of typical Filipino Food.

There’s even going to be Lumpia. I hope.

But then again, I might not even be going. Big family dinners usually stress me out, especially since they involve me being courteous to my grandma, sisters and to my aunt.

Mind you, my extended family are Conservative Catholics which is not a bad thing. I’ve known conservative Catholics to be open minded.

There are just a lot of things we don’t agree on.

They also don’t have any sense of boundaries. My aunt has been known bring up things that I would never talk to her about, like pap smears and breast cancer checks.

Albeit, all these things would be fine had I brought them up myself and if she was a person I could trust and could talk to about things. But she’s not.

My grandma has also been the same. Not the most supportive, doesn’t always say the right things and she has called me fat and has told me to lose weight in the past.

Yes, weight is a real issue for me too but I don’t think relatives should be calling their 14 year old granddaughters and nieces fat.

Does bad things for their self esteem.

Didn’t affect me very much, I’ll have you know but you can imagine why family get togethers are uncomfortable.

“When are you going back to school?”

“Have you been to church today?”

‘Oh, Adrienne. Your relatives are supposed to be like that.’

But what relatives call 14 year olds fat?

There’s a lot of negative things I associate with my extended family.

Causes a lot of stress and to an extend anger that they would treat me so.

And with that I have just proved that using this website as an outlet is a very very good thing for me and that I should use it more often.

Anyways, I thank you for reading if you came this far.

Until next time WordPress.

Adrienne

P.S. I don’t think I’ll be attending easter dinner this year. We’ll see.

Leave a Reply

