Home » The Babbles » What I’ve learned from tumblr

What I’ve learned from tumblr

The upsides to having a blog  are that I get to write about the things I experience or the things I learn about through the news.

The downsides are that I feel like I never feel like I’m never really talking about how these things that I experience help change and grow into a better person.

Now on to the subject of tumblr. I’ve been on tumblr for 5 years this past fall now, which is quite frightening now that I think about it.

I joined tumblr 5 years back so I could promote my writing, something that didn’t quite pan out the way I wanted to.

I instead spent 5 years making friends, learning how to write better (even if only a little) and somehow managing to drift my way through the ups and downs that is tumblr fandom.

For those of you involved in Tumblr fandom discourse, you know that it can be full of fun people who love writing and drawing and gif-ing AU posts and doing all sorts of creative things disperse among their fellow bloggers.

It can also be a place where people can connect with other like-minded people, which can be a big relief for those suffering mental illnesses, or abusive families.

Throughout my 5 years on Tumblr, I’ve also found that Tumblr is a very scary place. There are people on that website that have jumped down other bloggers’ throats just because they didn’t understand a joke or because one well-known blogger disagreed with them and everyone else thought it would be a good idea to bully them into deleting their blogs.

 

My own experience on Tumblr has always and will always have its ups and downs, but thankfully I have never personally experienced any of the people I follow outright attack someone else or have been attacked by someone else to the point where that person has left.

Anyways, this is what I’ve learned from being on tumblr.

  1. The struggle to get people of color into mainstream Hollywood isn’t new, but people are beginning to recognize that which is nice.
  2. When people on tumblr make a big deal about a big movie/tv show whose main characters are LGBTQA+ and POC (or any combination) and/or whose morals line up with yours, it may not necessarily be for you. It’s okay. It`s good to support all the shows and movies who are written/directed by and starring PoC, but you can only support so much. Dont try and do it all at once. You`re only one person.
  3. You will come across people who are struggling. You will come across people who are blogging in order to get out of their abusive homes. You don’t have to reblog those posts. I know it kills you. But you don’t have to.

And that’s all I can think of this time.

Feel to discuss and thanks for reading WordPress!

 

Adrienne

 

 

Leave a Reply

